Author Appreciation: Ray Bradbury

There is something so special about books. From going to the bookstore with a cup of coffee in hand, cracking the spine and smelling the pages-reading is my bliss. I remember when my family and I first moved to California from France, I was so lost and held a lot of frustration. Why did we have to move to another country? Why did I have to leave my best friend? Why did I have to start over when I had just gotten comfortable in my environment at the young age of six? The first thing my parents did when I entered the first grade was to make sure I learned how to read. Once I learned, I never looked back.

Fast forward to high school English class. My teacher assigned us The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury to read and I was immediately intrigued by the idea of reading about a future of dystopia and the unknown. After reading that book, I continued to read more of Ray Bradbury’s works and I fell in love with his writing. I have since lost track of how many books I have read by him but my favorites definitely include The Martian Chronicles, Dandelion Wine, Illustrated Man and Something Wicked This Way Comes. So please, if you have time, I highly recommend picking up one of his books, from his short stories to his eloquent imagery, Ray Bradbury will always have a spot on my bookshelf.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Who is your favorite author? Comment down below!

4 thoughts on “Author Appreciation: Ray Bradbury”

Leave a Reply

